Alameda County Commission on the Status of Women Policy Subcommittee Meeting Agenda Wednesday, November 8 2023 5:30-6:15PM

UNIT OF ALTAR UNIT OF ALTAR CONTRACTOR * CALIFORNIA

The mission of the Alameda County Commission on the Status of Women (COSW) is to represent the women of Alameda County in maximizing social equality and parity for women of all ages in such areas as housing, employment, health services, child care, elder care, education, transportation, credit, legal rights, and community services.

Meeting Information	Members		
To Participate: <u>Option 1: In person (required of all</u> <u>Commissioners)</u> Gail Steele Multi Service Center in Hayward, 3 rd Floor, Room: Lupine A #331 <u>Option 2: On Zoom</u> Please use the link below: To participate in meetings of the Commission on the Status of Women: Regular meeting: <u>https://us06web.zoom.us/j/83502223978</u> Meeting ID: 835 0222 3978	Commissioner Kazmi, Committee Chair	District 2	
	Commissioner Scott	District 5	
	Commissioner Senn	Conference of Mayors Representative, District 4	
For accommodations, please contact staff Tamara Lawrence at least 72 business hours in advance at (510) 267- 9448 or tamara.lawrence@acgov.org			

Website: <u>acgov.org/bc/csw</u> and on the <u>Social Services Agency website</u>. Facebook: <u>facebook.com/accosw</u> Twitter: <u>@AlamedaWomen</u> Instagram: <u>@ACCOSW</u> LinkedIn: <u>Alameda County Commission on the Status of Women</u>

ltem No.	Topics	Presenters	Description	Objective and Time
1.	Sup. Tam draft CEDAW ordinance	Commissioners	Discuss our feedback regarding the draft ordinance. Determine next steps including recommendations to a) Sup. Tam and b) the full Commission, including what roles we need different people to take on	Information and Action 5:30pm
2.	2023 Policy Committee work summary	Commissioners	Review the work summary prepared by Aliza to make any changes together before using in CBO outreach	Information and Action 6:00pm
3.	Existing/CBO-led non-CEDAW state and local advocacy efforts	Commissioners	Discuss any new or emerging pertinent local or state legislation or other advocacy opportunities. Determine next steps	Information and Action 6:10pm
4.	Education-based community engagement	Commissioners	Discuss opportunities to work with CBOs and offer remote educational forums or hearings on issues. Determine next steps including ongoing marketing of 11/16 webinar	Information and Action 6:15pm

5.	Public comment	Commissioners + visitors	Open forum for items not on the agenda/discuss any new feedback of what work CBOs are leading. Determine next steps	Information and Action 6:20pm
6.	Adjournment	Commissioners	Review action items and adjourn the meeting.	Information and Action 6:25pm

PUBLIC COMMENT: Public comment is permitted during each item on the agenda and during open public comment for items not on the agenda. If you wish to speak, instructions on joining a Zoom meeting are available at https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us/articles/201362193-Joining-a-meeting. Use the 'raise your hand' button. When you are called to speak, please unmute your speaker. If calling by telephone, dial *9 to raise your hand to speak. When you are called to speak, the host will unmute you. Please give your name for the record before your presentation. Only matters within our jurisdiction may be addressed. Time limits shall be at the chair's discretion.

NEXT COSW MEETINGS:

Regular Meeting – Wednesday, November 8, 2024, 5:30-6:15 PM Policy Committee Meeting – Wednesday, January 10, 2024, 5:30-6:15 PM Regular Meeting – Wednesday, January 10, 2024, 2023, 6:30-8:30 PM

COSW COMMITTEES (*ex officio)

Bylaws Adhoc Committee:

Commissioner Franco-Clausen Commissioner Scott Commissioner Senn*

COSW Presentation Adhoc Committee:

Committee Chair Amey Commissioner Senn*

Communications Committee:

Committee Chair Sizova Commissioner Amey Commissioner Franco-Clausen Commissioner Senn*

Policy and Advocacy Committee:

Committee Chair Kazmi Commissioner Scott Commissioner Senn*

Grant Implementation Committee:

Committee Chair Safinya-Davies Commissioner Amey Commissioner Senn* Commissioner Sizova

Nomination Committee:

Committee Chair Sweet Commissioner Amey Commissioner Lybarger Commissioner Senn*